Bart Campolo & Eric Huffman remind me why I love hosting debates

And find out what my dad thought about it too...

w

Most people know me for hosting conversations between Christians and non-Christians. However, since moving on from the Unbelievable? show I’ve decided to spend a little more time focussing on other creative approaches to bringing the secular and Christian world into conversation.

But it’s always fun to go back to your ‘sweet spot’. That happened recently when I moderated a debate between Eric Huffman and Bart Campolo.

I’m delighted to have been asked to guest-host some episodes of The Maybe God podcast over the next few months. There’s a lot of overlap between what host Pastor Eric Huffman does, and my own podcasts - making the case for Christian faith through open dialogue and intellectual questions.

Things began with an episode when Eric interviewed me alongside my wife Rev Lucy Brierley, about our shared ministry and life after Unbelievable? That was great fun as I rarely get to to talk alongside Lucy (though her support is and has and always has been an indispensable part of me being able to do what I do).

This doesn’t happen often…

We followed this up with en episode where I took to the moderator seat for a discussion between Eric and ex-Christian Bart Campolo titled ‘Why I am a Christian. Why I am a Humanist’.

It wasn’t the first time the two had met. In fact they very first episode of Maybe God saw them both lock horns in a debate that Eric says (to his eternal shame apparently) went a bit off the rails. It wasn’t the most productive encounter. In bringing them together for a round 2, with me as moderator, it was hoped that there would be a more fruitful result.

Even my dad (who doesn’t mince his words if he doesn’t enjoy one of my shows!) got in touch to voice his appreciation! See below:

I encourage you to take a look at the episodes and subscribe to the Maybe God podcast. I’ll be appearing again soon, with a roundtable discussion on the life and legacy of Tim Keller. Look out for it.

Keep thinking :-)

Justin

P.S. In these early months of my transition into freelance ministry and media I would be so grateful for your support via Patreon or Paypal. Thankyou!